© Saint-Malo Sailing - 53 rue de la cité - Entrée du port des Sablons - 35400 Saint-Malo - France

North Britany

Destinations

Where to sail around Saint-Malo ?

Discover North Brittany as you have never seen before: by the sea. Take off on one of our boats and let yourself be guided to the most beautiful places in Brittany. This small corner of paradise is full of islands all more beautiful than others (Brehat, the archipelago of Chausey, the legendary Channel Islands Jersey and Guernsey, etc ...). But Brittany it is also many small ports on the coast that will charm you (St Malo, Paimpol, Perros-Gurrec, etc ...). Do not wait any longer !
SERCQ : A TIMELESS STOP

The island of Sark is a stop not to be missed: in the rain or under a blazing sun, it will leave you with unforgettable memories. Bathed by the currents, it is joined from Guernsey by the channel of the great Russel by following exactly the instructions of the coastal pilots. 2 moorings allow to spend a serene night on buoy (about fifteen buoys by anchorage): Le Havre Gosselin in the West and the strike of the city to the East. We do not strongly recommend anchoring at Sercq, as untimely slippages are frequent due to the lack of funds.
 
Access to the island is via steep coastal paths, the island is indeed surrounded by a large cliff. On land there is no road traffic: the only vehicles allowed are tractors, carriages and bicycles. It is also strongly recommended to rent 2 wheels to discover the island (possibility to rent at attractive rates at AB Cycle). We can then walk the paths of the island, put his bycicle and go down to discover beautiful coves.es par la végétation.

CHAUSEY : AN AMAZING ARCHIPELAGO

The photos speak for themselves: Chausey is a fantastic landscape, with moving decorations, a marnage and impressive currents. At low tide they are rocks and sandbars as far as the eye can see, between which snake arms of sea where the connoisseur can sneak and reach the heart of the archipelago, in incredible anchorages.

 

At high tide there are a few moorings sheltered depending on the direction of the wind, but it is often better to join the sund to spend a quiet night on the dead bodies ...

1/5

AT THE EAST OF JERSEY: GOREY'S ANCHORAGE

Jersey is nicknamed "the island of flowers". It is an interesting destination because about 30 miles from Saint Malo (5/6 hours for a 35 feet), you find yourself in England, with all the atmosphere that goes with: language, culture, pubs (attention the tomorrows can be difficult ...), change of scenery guaranteed!

 

East of the island is the anchorage of Gorey. It is relatively sheltered and is rather advisable for the day, or in calm weather. Integral sailing dinghies will be better accommodated by being stranded on the sand and will be able to spend the night there in all serenity. Gorey is a place apart from Jersey, where you can enjoy a beautiful beach, away from the big city of St Helier ...

1/5

LA RANCE : A SURPRISING NAVIGATION

The Malouins always enjoy passing the lock of the dam to go to draw some edges in Rance. The green banks of the river and its nice anchorages with picturesque villages like St-Suliac will surprise you. Purists will appreciate the technical side of the navigation, with laughter at the passage of spikes, areas of calm, currents more or less strong in some places. The only drawback of this river comes from the tidal power plant which filters the entrance of the sailboats with a lock too small. The airlocks are made at fixed times, with a restriction in the summer over a certain time slot in order to make traffic on the dam more fluid.

 

Do not hesitate to enter the Rance on your navigation program.You can also forecast this destination in case of bad weather, to navigate in protected waters.

GUERNESEY : AN ISLAND TO DISCOVER

Guernsey is very different from Jersey's neighbor: smaller and less populated, it feels more quiet, more peaceful. Do not hesitate to rent a vehicle to really explore the island for 2 to 3 days. But beware, the streets are very narrow, and driving on the left always surprises on the first kilometers. During the trip we park the vehicle to take the coastal paths, which sometimes lead to fabulous strikes nestled below the cliffs, out of sight. The cove of Huet mill is one of those jewels that you should not miss: after 10 minutes of walking under the branches you will discover an exceptional site, with a small bistro where it is good to enjoy a beer on the terrace. Guernsey is also the festival of the port, which takes place every year at the end of July: high crowds on the port, contest of crazy dive, jousting, concert, and party in the pubs until the end of the night. Guernsey is finally a small island full of charm, where you can visit the house of Victor Hugo, political exile. And of course it's a multitude of strikes and beautiful beaches, including the beautiful Pembroke Bay, north of the island.

© Saint-Malo Sailing - 53 rue de la cité - Entrée du port des Sablons - 35400 Saint-Malo - France

Bretagne Nord

Destinations

Où naviguer aux alentours de Saint-Malo ?

Découvrez la Bretagne comme vous ne l'avez jamais vu: par la mer. Prenez le large à bord d'un de nos bateaux et laissez-vous guider vers les plus beaux endroits de Bretagne. Ce petit coin de paradis regorge d'îles toutes plus belles les unes que les autres (Bréhat, l'archipel de Chausey, les mythiques îles Anglo-Normandes Jersey et Guernesey,etc...). Mais la Bretagne c'est aussi de nombreux petits ports sur les côtes qui sauront vous charmer (St Malo, Paimpol, Perros-Gurrec,etc...). N'attendez plus !
SERCQ : UNE ESCALE HORS DU TEMPS 

L'île de Sercq est une escale à ne pas rater : sous la pluie ou sous un soleil de plomb, elle vous laissera des souvenirs inoubliables. Baignée par les courants, on la rejoint de Guernesey par le chenal du grand Russel en suivant avec précision les instructions des pilotes côtiers. 2 mouillages permettent de passer une nuit sereine sur bouée (une quinzaine de bouées par mouillage) : le Havre Gosselin à l'Ouest et la grève de la ville à l'Est. Nous déconseillons fortement le mouillage forain à Sercq, les dérapages intempestifs étant fréquents en raison des fonds peu propices.

L'accès à l'île se fait par le biais de sentiers côtiers bien pentus, l'île étant en effet entourée d'une falaise importante. A terre on ne trouve aucun trafic routier : les seuls véhicules autorisés sont les tracteurs, calèches et vélos. Il est d'ailleurs fortement recommandé de louer des 2 roues pour découvrir l'île (possibilité d'en louer à des tarifs intéressants chez AB Cycle). On peut alors arpenter les chemins de l'île, poser sa byciclette et descendre découvrir des criques magnifiques cachées par la végétation.
CHAUSEY : UN ARCHIPEL INCROYABLE !

Les photos parlent d'elles même : on rencontre à Chausey un paysage fantastique, avec des décors mouvant, un marnage et des courants impressionants. A marée basse ce sont des rochers et des bancs de sable à perte de vue, entre lesquels serpentent des bras de mer où le connaisseur peut se faufiler et accéder au coeur de l'archipel, dans des mouillages incroyables.

A marée haute il reste quelques mouillages à l'abri selon l'orientation du vent, mais il est souvent préférable de rejoindre le sund pour passer une nuit sereine sur les corps mort...

1/5
A L'EST DE JERSEY : LE MOUILLAGE DE GOREY

Jersey est surnommée "l'île aux fleurs". C'est une destination intéressante car à environ 30 milles de Saint malo (5/6 heures pour un 35 pieds), vous vous retrouvez en terre anglaise, avec toute l'ambiance qui va avec : langue, culture, pubs (attention les lendemains peuvent être difficiles...), dépaysement assuré ! 

A l'Est de l'île se trouve le mouillage de Gorey. Il est relativement peu abrité et est plutôt conseillé pour la journée, ou par temps calme. Les dériveurs intégraux y seront mieux logés en pouvant s'échouer sur le sable et pourront y passer la nuit en toute sérénité. Gorey est un endroit à part de Jersey, ou l'on peut profiter d'une superbe plage, à l'écart de la grande ville de St-Hélier...

1/5
LA RANCE : UNE NAVIGATION SURPRENANTE 

Les malouins ont toujours plaisir à passer l'écluse du barrage pour aller tirer quelques bords en Rance. Les berges verdoyantes de la rivière et ses mouillages sympas auprès de villages pittoresques comme St-Suliac vous surprendront. Les puristes apprécieront le côté technique de la navigation, avec des risées au passage des pointes, des zones de calme, des courants plus ou moins forts à certains endroits. Le seul inconvénient de cette rivière vient de l'usine marémotrice qui filtre l'entrée des voiliers avec une écluse trop petite. Les sas se font aux heures fixes, avec une restriction l'été sur une certaine plage horaire afin de fluidifier la circulation automobile sur le barrage.

Il ne faut pas hésiter à inscrire la Rance sur votre programme de navigation.Vous pouvez aussi prévoir cette destination en cas de mauvais temps, pour naviguer en eaux protégées.
GUERNESEY : UNE ILE A DECOUVRIR

Guernesey est bien différente de Jersey sa voisine : plus petite et moins peuplée, on s'y sent plus au calme, plus tranquille. Il ne faut pas hésiter à y louer un véhicule pour vraiment explorer l'île durant 2 à 3 jours. Mais attention, les rues sont bien étroites, et la conduite à gauche surprend toujours sur les premiers kilomètres.
Au fil du voyage on gare le véhicule pour emprunter les sentiers côtiers, qui mènent parfois à de fabuleuses grèves nichées en contrebas des falaises, à l'abri des regards. L'anse du moulin Huet fait partie de ces petits joyaux qu'il ne faut pas rater : après 10 minutes de marche sous les branches on y découvre un site exceptionnel, avec un petit bistrot où il fait bon déguster une bière en terrasse.

Guernesey c'est aussi la fête du port, qui a lieu chaque année fin juillet : forte affluence sur le port, concours de plongeons loufoques, joutes, concert, et fête dans les pubs jusqu'à la fin de la nuit.

Guernesey, c'est enfin une petite île pleine de charme, où l'on peut visiter la maison de Victor Hugo, exilé politique. Et bien sûr c'est une multitude de grèves et de magnifiques plages, parmi lesquelles figure la très belle baie de Pembroke, au Nord de l'île.